Leave a comment

Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian Cover

Title: Obsidian

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Release Date: May 8, 2012

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Book Summary:Starting over sucks. When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring . . . . until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth. Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something . . . unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me. You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.


Review: I am not a big connoisseur of YA, mostly because having survived high school once, I don’t feel the need to “lose” myself in that world again for my reading pleasure. But I want to say that I enjoyed this book and the world Jennifer L. Armentrout created. I even read it in one sitting. I want to get that out there because even though I enjoyed the book and couldn’t put it down, there are some issues that crop up a bit too often to be coincidence. I’ll talk about those in a second.

The dialogue is sharp and Katy, the female protagonist has a backbone, isn’t a social outcast, actually thinks and talks like a teenager, and she’s got a razor-sharp tongue. She’s courageous and doesn’t take any of Daemon’s crap. I love that half the time she’s calling him a douchebag, and when he objects, she calls him a dickhead.

I was not going to die like this. Neither were Daemon and Dee, not in some Podunk field in bumf**k West Virginia.

Daemon on the other hand has to be about the biggest class-A jerk on the planet and when you realize he’s doing it to protect his sister, it’s understandable to a degree. But even after he admits this, he’s still a jerk. I’ve never been much of a fan of the jerk mentality in leading men. However, in this story it worked. I liked that he didn’t turn into a big pile of mush at the end of the book but remained true to his douchebag demeanor, softening only a little.

The story does fall back on some familiar tropes. The constant references to Daemon’s smell, reminding us every time Katy sees him that he’s gorgeous, the zing that dances across her skin every time they touch, her constant blushing, the list is endless. It got annoying after a while.

Obsidian has a lot in common with Twilight, not in the overall tone but in subtle ways and in general settings. Both stories have the gorgeous God-like creatures sitting together in the lunchroom while the rest of the school stares at them in awe, the bubbly-starved-for-a-friend sister, the fear of exposure, only child, the clumsy-selfless-bookworm-not-aware-of-her-own-beauty protagonist, floppy hair, crooked smiles, overprotectiveness, superpowers, round lake in place of a round meadow, small town, formal dance, self-sacrifice… the list goes on and on. I realize that many of these things are staples in the YA genre, but with so many in one book, I just couldn’t ignore it.

That being said, even if this does have a strong Twilight influence, it’s the way I wished Twilight had been written with teens acting like teens in a small town. And the best part of all? No love triangles! For that alone I’m willing to give this story an extra star. I can only hope we don’t see an alien-human hybrid baby shine its way out of Katy later in the series. There is a sequel and a prequel to this book that I plan to read.

The Write Savage Rating

Four Star

Leave a Reply

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

inspiredfiction

A great WordPress.com site

The Flirty Reader by Lauren Schmelz

~Reading the squishy parts since 1996~

WriteDivas

Improving the world one book at a time...

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Serotonin Junkie

jousting with the windmills in my mind

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Daphodill's Garden

Wait...are those weeds?

The Editor's Blog

Write well. Write often. Edit wisely.

Night Owl Editing Services

Providing authors with affordable full-service editing.

HomeProfitStream

"Your Insight Into Social Media, News and Marketing"

Booknificent

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Megan S. Johnston ~ Author Blog

Transition, The Chimera Hunters Series - Go into the unknown

A Beautiful Body Project

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Terribly Write

Terrible Writing on the Web. And Writing Terribly Well for the Web

The Scholarly Kitchen

What’s Hot and Cooking In Scholarly Publishing

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

