10 Comments

Momma

Many moons ago, after multiple miscarriages that baffled doctors couldn’t explain, my mother decided it was time to adopt. And so an addition was made to the Savage family. At two weeks old I was welcomed by two eager parents and an older sister excited to finally have a sibling. Over the years my mom has told me the story of how I came to be a part of the family, how it only took two months from the time they applied with the agency, how my father almost ran my mother’s car off the road as he tried catch a glimpse of me through the window of her car, and how my older sister (7 years older) insisted that she share a room with me–a newborn. Even the town got caught up in the excitement of the seemingly sudden addition to the family, opening stores on Sunday (back when that thing wasn’t done)  to help my new family get the things they needed to welcome me to the fold.

My mom and me, camping in the Thai National Forest.

My mom and me, camping in the Thai National Forest.

Eventually the doctors figured out what was wrong and Mom was able to have more children. The result of this break-through was a very pregnant couple finalizing my adoption a year later before a very amused judge. And while it is not the typical labor and delivery story, it is special to me because my mom went out of her way to let me know that I was special to her. She always said that I was the only one of her four children she got to choose.

I just want to wish my mom a wonderful Mother’s Day and thank her for making me feel like I am special and equal in her heart to my siblings who are not adopted. I love you, Momma!

 

10 comments on “Momma

  1. What a charming story! I bet if asked, your parents would say they were equally fortunate to have chosen you as well.

  2. This is beautiful. 🙂 It’s awesome to be chosen. 🙂

  3. You are chosen, you are cherished, you are loved…little sister I longed for and finally have….ending my years of being an only lonely child….our family is very blessed to have you in it…I will forever be grateful to have you as my beloved sister….

  4. Couldn’t agree more with Jen, but I will anyway. There…. I agree MORE! Love ya sis, You never failed to take the time to explain homework or answer the questions I undoubtedly barraged you with, like when watching the Poseidon Adventure I kept asking you if Rogo lived or not, must have asked you fifty times… Now I know he didn’t, but I was happy to see him again… On Airwolf. Hope mom will see this post.

    Jeff

    • Give me some creds, boy! I printed out the article and gave it to her with her Mother’s Day gift. You know she hates to be in the same room with a computer, much less use or read something off one. 😉

  5. What a sweet story! I must admit, it brought tears to my eyes. *sniffle*

Leave a Reply

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

inspiredfiction

A great WordPress.com site

The Flirty Reader by Lauren Schmelz

~Reading the squishy parts since 1996~

WriteDivas

Improving the world one book at a time...

Serotonin Junkie

jousting with the windmills in my mind

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Daphodill's Garden

Wait...are those weeds?

The Editor's Blog

Write well. Write often. Edit wisely.

Night Owl Editing Services

Providing authors with affordable full-service editing.

HomeProfitStream

"Your Insight Into Social Media, News and Marketing"

Booknificent

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Megan S. Johnston ~ Author Blog

Transition, The Chimera Hunters Series - Go into the unknown

A Beautiful Body Project

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Terribly Write

Terrible Writing on the Web. And Writing Terribly Well for the Web

The Scholarly Kitchen

What’s Hot and Cooking In Scholarly Publishing

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

