2 Comments

Way to Triple Bill Parents

I just received a text from my seventh grader this morning informing me that he has to pay two dollars for damage to his math book. I’ve seen his book and it has sustained nothing but normal wear and tear for the year. We dutifully recovered each of his books multiple times throughout the year to avoid any damage. There are no missing pages, writing in the margins, a broken spine, or a cover missing. A bent corner here and there and that’s about it. But I am refusing to pay for it.

What’s the big deal about paying two dollars? First, my tax payer’s money bought that book, therefore it stands to reason that my children should have use of it and every book in the school that my taxes support. Second, the school already charged me a thirty-five dollar rental fee at the beginning of the school year to use a book my taxes paid for. Shouldn’t this “rental fee” of a book I technically own go toward any wear and tear?  Third, now they want me to pay for “damages” on top of it all. I’m calling this what it is, a bunch of b.s.

When my daughter was in the seventh grade, they tried to charge her thirty-five dollars for damage to a book that was in terrible condition when she got it, and she took very good care of that book. I refused to pay then too. I was outraged, actually, much like I am now. My daughter was a bit more outgoing and had no problem telling her teacher that I refused to pay for a book I already own and had to rent. Her teacher backed down right away. My son is very much on the shy side. I suspect I will be paying his school a visit this afternoon. Maybe I’ll refer them to my blog. Ha-ha!

2 comments on “Way to Triple Bill Parents

  1. You should take a picture of the book at the beginning of the school year, or pop it on a Xerox machine and copy both sides. Take the copies to the school and ask the teacher to initial it.

  2. Way to go! Don’t give in! I’ve never heard of having to rent your textbooks? Where does all the money go? The one time I let Lisa take a class at the high school, her Biology text book was a joke, 10 years old, so filthy I wanted to wear gloves to touch it, and completely devoid of useful information. I had to supplement with my own reference materials.

Leave a Reply

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

inspiredfiction

A great WordPress.com site

The Flirty Reader by Lauren Schmelz

~Reading the squishy parts since 1996~

WriteDivas

Improving the world one book at a time...

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Serotonin Junkie

jousting with the windmills in my mind

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Daphodill's Garden

Wait...are those weeds?

The Editor's Blog

Write well. Write often. Edit wisely.

Night Owl Editing Services

Providing authors with affordable full-service editing.

HomeProfitStream

"Your Insight Into Social Media, News and Marketing"

Booknificent

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Megan S. Johnston ~ Author Blog

Transition, The Chimera Hunters Series - Go into the unknown

A Beautiful Body Project

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Terribly Write

Terrible Writing on the Web. And Writing Terribly Well for the Web

The Scholarly Kitchen

What’s Hot and Cooking In Scholarly Publishing

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

