6 Comments

My Inner Trekkie is Showing

Star Trek: Into Darkness officially releases this Friday, but I have tickets to my local theater for tomorrow. I haven’t been this excited for a movie release since I don’t know when. I’m still nursing the emotional wounds for missing the nine-minute trailer shown during The Hobbit. And more than a little frustrated that I don’t know the ins and outs of scoring the video clip. I’m normally a pretty level-headed, practical gal. When I went to Iron Man 3 and saw the trailer for Into Darkness, I wanted to jump up and squeal. This would have branded me as the most uncool of the uncool with my teenage children. Nothing makes my teens roll their eyes faster than their mother drawing any attention to herself outside of playing the part of chauffeur or mobile ATM. So when something like a movie or an event causes me anticipation, I take notice. I may look uncool and collected on the outside, but I’m…

tumblr_inline_mgh1j9mjiT1qj2doh

…on the inside. You’re talking to a woman who named her first dog Worf. I love Star Trek and all its spin-offs. If you’re trying to picture me wearing a Starfleet uniform or alien costume, don’t bother. I may love the franchise and fangirl over the movies, but I’m not much for dressing up in costumes outside of Halloween. Not that there’s anything wrong with those who enjoy cosplay. It’s just not my thing.

Karl Urban

Karl Urban

Another reason I love this series is because of the drool-worthy Karl Urban. I have a very short list of actors whose movies I will see regardless of how bad their ratings are on Rotten Tomatoes. Karl is one of those actors. His portrayal of Leonard McCoy is spot on. It doesn’t hurt that I love sarcasm, and Karl knows how to deliver it with style. I certainly don’t want to leave out the rest of the cast here. Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Zoe Saldana, Simon Pegg, John Cho, and Anton Yelchin were all stellar in the first movie and have become the new face of Star Trek.

The re-imagining of this franchise with the release of Star Trek (The Future Begins) in 2009 was a bold and brilliant move and one that this fan approves of. And while the vehicle by which this reboot is possible (changing the past) is by no means original, the result for the series is certainly not cliché and has opened the door to possibilities that were otherwise unattainable due to the limitations imposed by the movies and story lines that came before.

So here’s one last look at the trailer for Star Trek: Into Darkness. Enjoy!

6 comments on “My Inner Trekkie is Showing

  1. Karl Urban is completely swoony. That is all.

  2. Karl Urban is completely swoony. Yes, indeed…

  3. I have to show off a little, here, by saying I watched it last Saturday. It was excellent, and I wore my Starfleet cap the rest of the weekend.

    The film was spectacular, as you’d expect, but it was the little things that made it – the casual slap on the arm by Kirk as he says, “It’ll be fun,” and you can see Shatner all over again. I suppose that highlights what Caryn’s always explaining to me (that woman has the patience of a saint in her encouragement of my writing) in that it’s the characters who make a story come alive. It may not have been a book, but I saw one of her main principles in 3D, full colour, last Saturday.

    You didn’t mention Benedict Cumberbatch. He’s a dirty, rotten scene-stealer if ever there was one.

    I’m so excited for you. You’ll have a blast.

    • I. Am. Jealous! Ha-ha. I love Shatner in the role of Kirk. It’s where he perfected his Shatneriness (new word), but I think Chris Pine is great too and has done a lot to make the character his.
      I didn’t mention Benedict Cumberbatch because I haven’t seen the movie yet. The only movie I remember seeing him is is War Horse. I can’t wait to see him. He’s got a different look about him that lends to his persona as a villain in the previews. It ups the cold, creepy feeling I get when I look at him and I can’t wait to see him in this movie.
      Sounds like Caryn is doing a great job helping you out with you writing! If we have same Caryn in common, say hi for me.

      • Good morning, from a sunny Derbyshire.

        Caryn certainly is, so you know what a star she is. I hope to chat with her in a few days.

        The whole new Trek team are doing a sterling job. I just wish I could see a new film every week. Never mind, I’ll just dust off my full set of Next Generation and get watching.
        You have seen BC as Sherlock, right? Right?

      • I haven’t seen Sherlock. My daughter is a fan so we are making attempts to convert each other to our favorite fandoms. I think I’ve made a Trekkie out of her. Now she has to make a fan of Sherlock out of me. Lol

Leave a Reply

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

inspiredfiction

A great WordPress.com site

The Flirty Reader by Lauren Schmelz

~Reading the squishy parts since 1996~

WriteDivas

Improving the world one book at a time...

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Serotonin Junkie

jousting with the windmills in my mind

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Daphodill's Garden

Wait...are those weeds?

The Editor's Blog

Write well. Write often. Edit wisely.

Night Owl Editing Services

Providing authors with affordable full-service editing.

HomeProfitStream

"Your Insight Into Social Media, News and Marketing"

Booknificent

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Megan S. Johnston ~ Author Blog

Transition, The Chimera Hunters Series - Go into the unknown

A Beautiful Body Project

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Terribly Write

Terrible Writing on the Web. And Writing Terribly Well for the Web

The Scholarly Kitchen

What’s Hot and Cooking In Scholarly Publishing

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

