10 Comments

Armchair BEA

armchairbea21

I can’t believe I almost missed this! I attended BEA in New York last year and loved it. By far my favorite part was the Blogger’s Conference the day before, which I attended at the time as a publishing professional. My coworker and I set a goal that we would try to attend the next year as bloggers. We didn’t make that goal, but I am happy to report that we are well on our way of making that goal next year. So in place of physically attending BEA, I am just as pleased to take part in Armchair BEA. So, on with the introductions… (For those of you who are unfamiliar with Armchair BEA, there is a list of daily discussion topics participants have the option of blogging about. Day one is introductions.)

Please tell us a little bit about yourself?

Most people know me as Janine Savage, an avid book and movie lover who has an opinion on just about everything.  I’m also a freelance editor who has a secret wish to be an author and a race car driver. I am a blogging newbie. (I started my blog one month ago yesterday.) I’d been meaning to join the blogosphere, but my work schedule didn’t give me that luxury until recently. So I jumped in with both feet. I’m still learning the ropes and how to discipline myself to write consistently. It’s harder than I expected. Haha! Eventually I’ll figure out how to migrate my free website over to my dot com.

Where in the world are you blogging from?

Ben Lomond Mountain, North Ogden, Utah Picture taken by Janine Savage

Ben Lomond Mountain, North Ogden, Utah
Picture taken by Janine Savage

I am blogging from my armchair. What? Not what you were looking for? Okay… My house sits at the base of the mountain that inspired the Paramount logo. For those readers who know the answer to that hint, kudos to you! I live in North Ogden, Utah in the shadow of Ben Lomond, a very large, very tall mountain that seems to produce its own weather patterns when the mood hits. But I have a view to die for, so I’m happy!

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.

I can’t whistle. I never learned how and as a result, my children aren’t any good at it either.

What literary location would you most like to visit?

It’s a tie really, but they are close enough that I could visit both in a once-in-a-lifetime expensive trip—Ireland and Scotland. I’ve read a lot of novels set in both locations, but the novel that stands out at the moment is for Scotland and is thanks to Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. Jamie Fraser is to die for!

What is your favorite part about the book blogging community?

I love how the book blogging community is all about helping each other out. It’s not a competition, but rather what can I do to send more readers your way. Maybe I haven’t been doing this long enough to have a bad experience, either that or I’m still high from the new car smell.

Thanks for visiting The Write Savage!

10 comments on “Armchair BEA

  1. You can’t whistle? Alas. 🙂

    Jamie Fraser is verrah hot.

    And I’m so glad you’re doing this! 🙂

  2. This is very cool! I had no idea you couldn’t whistle! But you are made of awesome, no matter what!

  3. I *can* whistle but not very well… I can get a sound to come out but can’t really control the pitch or volume. What’s funny is that as a kid I’d whistle through the gap between my front teeth, but after I got braces, that gap was no longer there and I never learned to do it the normal way!

    Hope you’re enjoying Armchair BEA!

  4. Welcome to blogging! I have found that doing what I can when I can makes it a lot more manageable for me. I’m always thoroughly impressed with people who maintain a regular blogging schedule. My posts are so erratic.

  5. Welcome to book blogging! I hope you love it here! Also, welcome to the wonderful community that is Utah Book Bloggers! We are quite the crowd. And just so you know, we are in the process of planning for Utah Book Month in August… our very own online celebration of Utah books, authors and bloggers. See the details here: http://www.utahbooks.blogspot.com/ Happy Armchair BEA!

  6. I might be a little high from the new car smell as well 😉 I’ve been blogging less than a year. So far I’ve only met supportive and awesome bookish folk 🙂

    I hope you’re enjoying the ABEA, happy reading!

  7. Nice to meet you! I started from the end of the list so that those that posted later in the week could get some attention 🙂 Your view is awesome, as a photographer I love Utah. 🙂 Will be heading out there next month to hit Arches and Bryce.

    Here’s my intro posts (I have 2 blogs):
    http://bookgoodies.com/all-about-bookgoodies-intro-for-armchairbea/
    http://thesouthwestgallery.com/introducing-the-southwest-gallery/

  8. Heya Janine,

    Ireland and Scotland are close to each other, but if you ever visit, make sure to take at least a month 😉 There is loads to see in both locations 😀 I’ve done Ireland (partially) and still need to get to Scotland.
    Oh, and if you ever get there, do a slight sidejump to me 😉 I’m just as close as Ireland is to Scotland 😀

    I’m new at blogging too, so my blogs are very clean…. I’m trying to be better, and will see if I can put up some book reviews now and then too! You’re my inspiration 😀 I read anyway, so I can review easily (or that’s what my mind is trying to tell me)

    Ttys!
    Annelies

Leave a Reply

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

inspiredfiction

A great WordPress.com site

The Flirty Reader by Lauren Schmelz

~Reading the squishy parts since 1996~

WriteDivas

Improving the world one book at a time...

Serotonin Junkie

jousting with the windmills in my mind

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Daphodill's Garden

Wait...are those weeds?

The Editor's Blog

Write well. Write often. Edit wisely.

Night Owl Editing Services

Providing authors with affordable full-service editing.

HomeProfitStream

"Your Insight Into Social Media, News and Marketing"

Booknificent

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Megan S. Johnston ~ Author Blog

Transition, The Chimera Hunters Series - Go into the unknown

A Beautiful Body Project

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Terribly Write

Terrible Writing on the Web. And Writing Terribly Well for the Web

The Scholarly Kitchen

What’s Hot and Cooking In Scholarly Publishing

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

