8 Comments

Arm Chair BEA: Non-fiction

I admit, I’m not much of a non-fiction reader. I like the escape I get from reading fiction. That’s not to say I haven’t read a few in the past. Funny thing is, I’ve liked every non-fiction book I’ve read so I’m not sure why I don’t read them as a rule. Most of the time I gravitate toward memoirs, the funnier the better.

agorafabous bc Last year during the Bloggers Conference at BEA, I received a copy of Agorafabulous!: Dispatches from My Bedroom by Sara Benincasa. I started reading it and couldn’t put it down. By the time I arrived back in Utah, I’d finished it and had almost finished reading another book. (Flying to anywhere on the East Coast from Utah requires a five-hour layover in an airport. I am well-acquainted with many of the airports across this nation.) But back to the book. Agorafabulous! is a memoir that is heartbreaking and hilarious in the same breath. In my opinion, the humor was the best vehicle to deliver this tale of one woman’s struggles with mental illness. By showing the humor in situations that would otherwise make one cringe, Benincasa humanized her condition for the reader, making it easier to see the real sane person underneath the conditions she suffers from.

on writing bcI picked up Stephen King’s book, On Writing, a Memoir of the Craft, as a writing resource and to hopefully help me improve my craft as an editor. It has become my number one writing book recommendation, more because of the insights into Stephen King’s childhood and how it has affected his writing than anything else. He lays bare the conditions of his upbringing and some of his life-changing moments. It’s easy to see where he gets the inspiration for some of his work and how deep the well of his emotional experiences he pulls from is. He also reminds us that there is more to life than art. My favorite quote from the book: “Life isn’t a support-system for art. It’s the other way around.”

So do I plan on reading another non-fiction in the near future? I do have several on my bookshelf gathering dust and looking pitiful every time I pass one of them up for a work of fiction. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson and Cures for Hunger by Deni Y. Bechard are gaining ground so I might tackle one soon. And Rob Lowe’s Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography looks tempting, but I don’t own that one so it will have to wait until payday or a really great sale.

lets pretend this never happened bc stories i only tell my friends bc ??????????????????????????????????

8 comments on “Arm Chair BEA: Non-fiction

  1. I have never read King’s book on writing. I don’t know why. I think it’s because everyone reads it (and says it’s great) so I just think… Nope. I’m such a rebel. Really. It’s weird.

    My favorite non-fiction is, of course, anything on ancient history. I also enjoy David McCullough’s biographies. 🙂

    • You ARE a rebel! Haha! I’ve heard of David McCullough. I don’t know where–probably from an author crediting him with a biography they read preparing for writing a story. Might just have to give him a read.

  2. I’m reading a biography on Einstein right now. It is keeping me up at night. My mind is so confused and fascinated at the same time. I recently read a Biography on Bobby Fischer called “Endgame” that was just fantastic. I enjoy memoirs too, but I tend to lean toward biographies and historical non-fiction. I think the reason is that I always wonder when they are writing what they read in quotes, how they could possibly remember what they said, word for word. And if they can’t remember, then how can they feel comfortable putting words into other people’s mouths that they may or may not have said.

  3. Haha! Wish I could answer a few of those questions, but I can’t. I think a biography about Einstein would be fantasy. I’ve always been fascinated by his life and his research.

  4. I love nonfiction! I haven’t read Agorafabulous but it sounds like something I would really like.

    I’ve heard very good things about the Rob Lowe. I hope to get to that one of these days 😉 You know how that goes, I’m sure!

    Happy reading!

    • I was really surprised at how much I liked Agorafabulous!, not because if the topic, but because it was a memoir. Haha! I guess I have a few preconceived notions I need to shake. Thanks for commenting.

  5. Thank you for your kind words, Janine! I really appreciate it. Am currently working on two YA novels, one out April ’14 and one out in 2015. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

inspiredfiction

A great WordPress.com site

The Flirty Reader by Lauren Schmelz

~Reading the squishy parts since 1996~

WriteDivas

Improving the world one book at a time...

Serotonin Junkie

jousting with the windmills in my mind

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Daphodill's Garden

Wait...are those weeds?

The Editor's Blog

Write well. Write often. Edit wisely.

Night Owl Editing Services

Providing authors with affordable full-service editing.

HomeProfitStream

"Your Insight Into Social Media, News and Marketing"

Booknificent

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Megan S. Johnston ~ Author Blog

Transition, The Chimera Hunters Series - Go into the unknown

A Beautiful Body Project

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Terribly Write

Terrible Writing on the Web. And Writing Terribly Well for the Web

The Scholarly Kitchen

What’s Hot and Cooking In Scholarly Publishing

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

