Leave a comment

January Movies I Want to See

It seems that 2014 has a few movies I’m just itching to see; too many, it seems, for one post to rule… er… talk about them all. So instead of doing a mega gigantic post, I’m going to treat you to a monthly post highlighting the movies that interest me. To start with, I’m an action-movie junkie. You won’t find many chick flicks here, unless the chick blows up something and wields a wicked crossbow or firearm. Maybe there’s a glitch in my X chromosome. I don’t know, but you won’t find my husband complaining about it. We almost always want to see the same movies.

In January, the hubby and I have our birthdays exactly one week apart… well, six years and one week to be exact. LOL And it’s not very often that our birthdays fall on a Friday. But this year the stars aligned so that we have Friday birthdays and movies we want to see opening on those dates. Needless to say, it’s a no-brainer what we’re doing to celebrate. There are three movies this month that made it on the family calendar in the kitchen: The Legend of Hercules, Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit and I, Frankenstein (in order of release date).


The Legend of Hercules

Immortality is in his bloodline.

Hercules 13036_poster

Release Date: January 10th
Rating: PG-13
Starring: Kellan Lutz, Liam McIntyre, and Scott Adkins

Summary: In the epic origin story the legend of Hercules, Kellan Lutz stars as the mythical Greek hero—the son of Zeus, a half-god, half-man blessed with extraordinary strength. Betrayed by his stepfather, the king, and exiled and sole into slavery because of a forbidden love, Hercules must use his formidable powers to fight his way back to his rightful kingdom. Through harrowing battles and gladiator-arena death matches, Hercules embarks on a legendary odyssey to overthrow the king and restore peace to the land. [SOURCE: http://www.hercules3dmovie.com/]

This movie made the list at the request of my sixteen-year-old daughter. She has proudly followed in her mother’s footsteps and eschewed the chick flick, unless there’s a hot guy who ends up shirtless at some point in the movie. But I digress. This film looks like a good way to spend a few hours. Am I expecting Oscar-winning performances or a screen play that will leave me enlightened? Nope – too many shirtless buff men. But I do expect to be entertained, and I’m hoping the story isn’t weak or full of plot holes. Even though I’m not expecting to be amazed or transported to a higher consciousness, I also don’t want my intelligence insulted. This is Kellan Lutz’s second role as a mythical god or demigod, having played Poseidon opposite Man of Steel’s Henry Cavill in Immortals (2011)

For more on The Legend of Hercules:

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Tumblr


Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit

Trust No One

hr_Jack_Ryan-_Shadow_Recruit_14

Release Date: January 17th
Rating: PG-13
Starring: Chris Pine, Kevin Costner, Kenneth Branagh, and Keira Knightly

Summary: In a story taking place prior to the original Jack Ryan stories, Ryan is a young stockbroker working for a billionaire in Moscow before joining the CIA. When the billionaire he is advising frames him for a terrorist plot and kidnaps his wife, Ryan must race against time to clear his name, stop the plot, and save his wife.

Chris Pine is the latest actor to star as Jack Ryan, following in the footsteps of Alec Baldwin, Harrison Ford, and Ben Affleck. I’ve seen and loved these movies, even the one with Ben. (I’m not much of a fan of his. I’m sure he’s a wonderful human being; I’m just not sold on his earlier work.) I am excited to see Chris Pine in this role. I loved him in the new Star Trek franchise as Captain James T. Kirk and thought he did a great job in Unstoppable opposite Denzel Washington. I’m not sure how I feel about Keira Knightly in the roll of Jack’s wife, so I’ll hold my comments until after I see her in the movie. Kevin Costner as Jack’s mentor and Kenneth Branagh as the villain (and director) round out this film.

Am I expecting more out of this film? Yes. Tom Clancy is the originator of this series, though not the author of this particular story. That belongs to David Koepp (Angels and Demons, War of the Worlds, Spider-Man, Panic Room, Mission Impossible, and Jurassic Park.)

For more on Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit:

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter


I, Frankenstein

In the battle between good and evil, an immortal holds the key.
I_Frankenstein_Teaser_Poster_Oficial_JPostersRelease Date: January 24th
Rating: PG-13
Starring: Aaron Eckhart, Bill Nighy, and Yvonne Strahovski

Summary: 200 years after his shocking creation, Dr. Frankenstein’s creature, Adam, still walks the earth. But when he finds himself in the middle of a war over the fate of humanity, Adam discovers he holds the key that could destroy humankind. From the co-writer of the hit supernatural saga, UNDERWORLD, comes the action thriller I, FRANKENSTEIN, written for the screen and directed by Stuart Beattie, screen story by Kevin Grevioux and Stuart Beattie, based on the Darkstorm Studios graphic novel “I, Frankenstein” created by Kevin Grevioux. The story is brought to life by a cast that includes Aaron Eckhart, Bill Nighy, Yvonne Strahovski, Miranda Otto, Jai Courtney, and Aden Young as Victor Frankenstein. [SOURCE: http://www.ifrankensteinfilm.com/]

This is the movie I’m the most excited for in January. Why? Maybe I’ve always had a special place in my heart for Frankenstein. I mean who can forget that lovable monster in Young Frankenstein, right? LOL Somehow I don’t think Aaron Eckhart’s version of the monster will be warm and cuddly, but Eckhart is a big reason why I’m excited for this film. I’m also a fan of the classic good vs. evil with the tragic outcast, a victim of his circumstances, that must save the day. It’s got sad ending written all over it. But this is Hollywood, so while I don’t expect Adam to go riding off into the sunset on a unicorn with the girl, I do expect that the makers of this fill will end it on a hopeful note or something that either gives Adam the life he wants or releases him from his cursed existence. I’m also hoping that this film wows with the script, plot and acting as much as I expect the special effects to, but because of past expectations of movies of this nature, I half expect that the filmmakers have put more time and effort into the special effects and neglected the story. Here’s hoping against hope that Hollywood gets it right because that would make for a great birthday, right? Haha!

For more on I, Frankenstein:

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter (#IFrankenstein)


I’m sure there are other worthy movies coming out in January, but these are the three that I’m the most excited to see. All three are action adventure / thriller type movies. I doubt any of these movies will speak to me like the wonderful The Secret Life of Walter Mitty did (more on that movie later), but I’m not expecting a movie as insightful as Mitty. What these three movies do promise is a good romp and a lot of action and adventure, something I just don’t get a lot of living in suburbia.

Enjoy and pass the popcorn!

Leave a Reply

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

inspiredfiction

A great WordPress.com site

The Flirty Reader by Lauren Schmelz

~Reading the squishy parts since 1996~

WriteDivas

Improving the world one book at a time...

Serotonin Junkie

jousting with the windmills in my mind

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Daphodill's Garden

Wait...are those weeds?

The Editor's Blog

Write well. Write often. Edit wisely.

Night Owl Editing Services

Providing authors with affordable full-service editing.

HomeProfitStream

"Your Insight Into Social Media, News and Marketing"

Booknificent

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Megan S. Johnston ~ Author Blog

Transition, The Chimera Hunters Series - Go into the unknown

A Beautiful Body Project

Continuing a life-long love affair with books, movies, life...

Terribly Write

Terrible Writing on the Web. And Writing Terribly Well for the Web

The Scholarly Kitchen

What’s Hot and Cooking In Scholarly Publishing

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

